News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Long story, but Win 10 & Tune ECU Connection issues

Started by Timbox2, October 20, 2016, 10:37:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timbox2

I'll try to keep it short but interesting day yesterday, I'll reserve the puncture on the M50 fiasco for another thread. But eventually got to Chris C's in the back of a SOS Motorcycle wagon to have a go at his Tiger with Tune ECU. Ive been using my new Win 10 laptop with Tune ECU for a few months without any real problems. Connected to Chris's Tiger and downloaded a map no problem, but then tried to reconnect to do a TPS reset and nothing, just wouldnt connect, saw a few errors about not being able to open to com port, restarted laptop, changed com ports etc but nothing, just to make sure I hadnt done anything terminal to Chris' ECU tried to connect to my bike but same thing, eventually had to call it a day and head off back to Wales. Today I had a think and started to have a look through the event viewer on the laptop and there was definitely something pointing towards the laptop having a hissy fit around the time it stopped connecting. A bit drastic but I decided to reset the laptop to Factory settings and bang, all working again, not a 5 minute job, my laptop took 2 to 3 hours to reset, I also installed the drivers manually this time before connecting the cable which I didnt do the first time. Its still not totally stable, but seems to be usable and Ive ordered a new Cable from Triumph Twin Power to see if that makes any difference, so for any Win 10 owners a reset may be worth a try, just remember to back up all your stuff onto a stick or similar.