News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

oooh that was soooo close

Started by Patch, August 14, 2004, 10:16:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patch

I just managed to get out of 3x today without buying a Tiger but ... I have arranged a test ride this week.

Seriously, just wanted to introduce myself, am "about" to venture into Tiger ownership and so have been looking at the forums and decided to stop in here.

So which should I buy a brand spanking new 05 with the cast wheels and all the thrown in extras or a 2002 for almost 2k less but with only 5,000 miles?

Tony.the.tiger

Hi

I'm a newbie myself, just bought a 01 pink Tiger  :oops: not picked it up yet due to a part being on order, i'd go for the used one and save on the pennies, don't think much of the new cast wheels on the 05, but as i say i'm a newbie so i don't know much :oops:

ATDRS

New for sure. Then its yours..

New suspension is worth it although it can be sorted on the earlier ones also.

Panniers make up about half the difference then there is warranty. Tubless is good but not required for fun.

Ride and enjoy, the Tiger way.

Flying Tiger

I, personally, couldn't have gotten into a Triumph Tiger (2002) if it wasn't used.  I couldn't afford new.

The used ones that I have seen for sale are very well taken cared of.   So for me,  used seems to be a good value with the luggage and the warranty, if you can find them.

But, the 05's are nice too.

Bushwhacker

Quote from: "Patch"So which should I buy a brand spanking new 05 with the cast wheels and all the thrown in extras or a 2002 for almost 2k less but with only 5,000 miles?

I have had mine 10 days.

I decided to buy the 05 because