News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Final Drive Ratio

Started by fly'nPirate, September 01, 2011, 04:14:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

fly'nPirate

Newbie here so I'm sure the subject has been beat around before, but here goes. All opinions are weighed, but a blatant showing of your ignorance will attract the wolves! None the less, chime in...

I purchased the 2000 885i a few months ago and the final drive ratio is 19/48. I'm constantly looking for 7th gear. I rarely ride the bike off road (My KTM does that..) The gearing is very short and 70mph requires about 4700 rpm. Most of my riding is mountain twisties/switchbacks and of course connecting occasionally on Interstates.

I'm considering 19/45 but want your opinions as the cost of "testing" the best combo is prohibitive. I've read someone loving the 19/43 set-up but I don't want 3500 rpm to get out of the garage either. Whatcha think'n? Opinions?

Also, where are you guys finding the best prices for quality chains/sprockets in the US?
"Two Wings or Two Wheels, Just Haul Ass!"

Chris Canning

I had a couple of 885's before my 955,blimey it's a long time ago but I think the stock gearing was 18/46 and I went to a 19,but what isn't mentioned often the 885i redline at 8000 were as the 955 is 9500.

But that made top gear almost an over drive and it wouldn't respond all that well when you wanted warp drive  :roll:,so anything lower than that in top the motor will just fall on it's face.

Re cost of testing,engine sprockets are peanuts.

Kraftsman 73

Well, funny you should ask, just returned home after a test ride with new gearing on my 955i.  Changed from the stock gearing of 18/46 to 19/43.