News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

New guy looking for some advise

Started by survivaleveryday, June 06, 2012, 07:53:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

survivaleveryday

Hello TT forum...
Hope you guys (and girls) don't mind if I ask some questions about your experiences with the Tiger ( the new 800).
I have been riding for 24 years, on manly sport bikes with a few standards thrown in.
Its time I think for a Adventure bike! I would like to take some longer rides than I have been able to do with the sport bikes and the riding position. I would even like to take the bike of road, nothing crazy. So I have been looking for an Adventure bike, I started off looking at the F800, I had a KTM, but not really interested in their adventure bike(to big).. The GS1200 and new Triumph 1200 explorer just seems to big. (I'm 509 185lbs)
So I have boiled it down to two bikes the Triger 800 and XC.
XC seems just a little to tall for me even with the seat all the way down, the 800 fits perfectly. I guess i would mainly do hgwy driving with 10 to 15 % of road.(optimistically)
So with this in mind the 800 looks like the fit(excuse the pun), but I'm concerned that if I don't get the XC I might regret it. (never no when you want to to the Dakar) . The XC is 1000.00 more and I'm already at my limit with the 800. ( want to leave some extra cash for side bags and Arrow exhaust; and some all weather riding gear :) )
SO how many of you on the forum have the 800 and which do you have? and why did you chose the model? The guys with the 1050 have you taken it off road( gravel dirt roads)
Triumph Tiger 800 roadie 2012
KTM Superduke 2008
Ducati 900ss 2000
Kawasaki Ninja 600 2001