News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Proper 3 spoke conversion

Started by GavD, December 01, 2013, 04:57:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rf9rider

Quote from: chrisw on December 15, 2013, 05:24:02 AM
Hi ....... Just to bring myself up to speed .... Is the plan to fit later bottoms to the early steamer forks making fitting the wheels easier ?
Im new to this but very interested
Ta
Chris

Plan is to fit the early Steamer stanchions to the Sprint lowers so he can fit the 3 spoke wheels, as the later Steamer forks are not suitable for the conversion.

GavD

Fingers crossed they turn up before xmas as I've pretty much got everything else sorted and this is now holding me up. Got a week off work over xmas and I've been promised a day in the garage to get it sorted.

RF, how have you secured the lower end of the gaitors to the fork bottom, as the sprint ones are bigger and the gaitors don't slide over. Or have you just left them floating?
'98 Steamer (Black of course), '18 BMW R NineT Urban G/S

rf9rider

I bought some aftermarket gaiters, they fit nicely over the bottoms without anything securing them.

rybes

yeah they look the ones. was just about to add i have a set if you get stuck but you found some  :thumbsup. jus wait till youve finsihed the conversion and go out on it the first time. itll actually stop  :bug_eye
reiberman reiberman rides his tiger as hard as he can (sung to spiderman tune)

GavD

That's what I'm hoping for Rybes, got a tidy set of the 4 pot calipers and a set of venhill lines. Also bought a 5/8ths master cylinder and replaced the internals with new.