News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Technical - 98' Tiger purchased yesterday!

Started by GavD, February 12, 2017, 10:01:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GavD

Welcome,

You mention DAR and sprag clutch in the same sentence - they are 2 separate issues and shouldn't be connected in any way.

I've no experience of the sprag clutch, but I've got a '98 model and as far as the DAR goes, the '98's were fitted with the upgraded shaft as standard. I've had a bit of DAR in the past but it's easily cured by pulling the alternator and rebolting the drive vanes back onto the alternator nice and tight. The hardest bit is getting the alternator back in without nipping a chunk out of the o ring.

Someone far more knowledgeable than me will pitch in soon about sprags.

Enjoy the bike, they're addictive!!
'98 Steamer (Black of course), '18 BMW R NineT Urban G/S

JayDub

I'm not positive on this, but isn't there the bit about when the drive side bolt shears, and the sprag drops down?
"When I was younger I could remember anything, whether it happened, or not."

Hooverscon

Thanks GavD... I think I was getting ahead of myself... The Sprag Clutch is what needs to be replaced... Hopefully I didn't just jinx myself with the DAR!!

London_Phil

OK so, Hi, welcome to the Forum, and are you ready for some fun.
DAR , aka alternator rattle can be looked into/fixed without removing engine.
Sprag clutch however = Engine out.... on anything but the earliest bikes,which have an access cover, as the crankcase halves need splitting.
Not impossible, but a commitment required.
Are you confident you know which issue you have before you go get it.,