News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Anyone tried to change connecting rods by himself?

Started by snatch, April 08, 2008, 01:26:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

snatch

Hi everyone, that's my first post here (unfortunately, it seems that if I had come across tha forum earlier I would have prevent myself from many nasty situations..)

As an owner of 2 steamers (a '94 Mikuni carb'ed and a '98 Keihin carb'ed) and after spending hundreds of hours fixing minor or major things myself (even though I'm not a mechanic) I thought this time I could go a little deeper and try renewing all 3 con rods by myself.

So, the question now is simple: provided that I have already 'experimented' on de-assembling my '94 engine (that was a blown engine, the whole bike was purchased for spared parts), are there things beyond my knowledge that  I should know? One thing I 've learned for sure is that "taking apart" is always easier than "putting together"..

Thanks for taking time reading that post, I have to say that a lot of people here seem to know lots of stuff about steamers. In fact, I got myself smiling in threads like the one for Nology coils (I use the PVL of my '94 spare, they 're by far better than the newer english ones, before that I had already purchased a couple of new ones for 160€ each!) From now on I 'll take a look over here before buyng anything for my steamer!

And if anyone could provide me with any links for buing those con rods online, it would be much appreciated. (Price in local dealer in Greece is 190€ for each rod. I bet I can find better than that.)

Mustang

My question is why do you have to renew the connecting rods ?

snatch