News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Looking for a knowledgeable wrench near DC to tutor me

Started by matteblack, February 04, 2010, 12:44:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

matteblack

Hi all. I'm in my third year of riding, on my forth bike, and have some decent trips under my belt (Arctic Circle/Inuvik one year, Newfoundland another). Now I feel it's time for me to improve my motorcycle repair and maintenance skills - with a goal of having a better understanding and ability in routine maintenance needs, and also being more proficient at fixing things when they go wrong on the road. The problem is, I need an experienced, knowledgeable tutor with a garage and tools and a few years of working on bikes under their belt to show me the ropes.

I have basic tools and am fine doing basic jobs like changing the oil, checking fluids and battery, installing farkles etc. I have an engineering background and a pretty keen mind, so pick things up fast, but it's much easier to actually see things done and be shown procedures by someone than it is to read about it in a book and hope you're doing it right. I'm hoping there's someone out there within a couple of hours ride of DC who wouldn't mind spending a few hours with me on the odd weekend helping me learn a few new things. I'm happy to reciprocate however I can - whether that's buy the pizza, mow the yard after we're done, help you brush up on computer skills - whatever.