News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Buffering, maybe a solution!

Started by klingklang, December 04, 2004, 05:21:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

klingklang

Hi, I'm new to tiger. I just bough one but I will be able to ride it only next spring because I Leave in Quebec,Canada and the winter is here grrrr.

So, I can't try the following but I'm sure some of you will do. Since i'm french speaking, I like to go on french forum a bit. Here is something interesting I found on a site of a guy living in France which give some of his tips.  The guys found that the first thing that cause the buffering on the tiger is the mirrors. He tried his tiger without mirrors and notice that there is far less buffering. He than tried his old honda mirror (africa twin). The bufferring is back but there is no more vibration on the mirror. What makes him say that the mirrors are bad on every points.  After modifications to his tiger mirror he found that the buffering has moved to his upper arm instead of his head.  Next pics from his site.

Original mirrors positions

new mirrors positions

His page about the mirror buffering

http://1000n.pouz.free.fr/TigerWeb/entretien/retros.html

That remind me something I read on a test on different big trail bike. On the test, it  comes out that the Honda Varadero and Aprilia Caponord had the best protection. Notice the mirrors arm shape on those two bike in the following pictures. They were the only two bike with that configuration.

So, maybe this guy Idea not bad at all. I'm anxious to see other tiger owner try that now since I cant.

sorry for my english!

kk

Brock

kk...A Big welcome. It will be worth the wait 'till next spring.