News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

jerky throttle

Started by bigroney, February 08, 2007, 11:26:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bigroney

hi im a newbie,got 2006 tiger change from sports bike (yam r1) love the tiger, got problem with splutter when filtering traffick at slow speed the dealer said a lot of tigers have this problem as its before the fuel injection kicks in,can any one tell me how to sort out this problem and were to buy this from cheers

Tigerpete

I have had this problem on my 04 since new. If you do a search on this site you will find that some folk on here swear by plugging in an oxygen sensor by pass thingy which seems to eliminate the problem. My bike is 'lumpy' between 2000 and 3000 rpm on a steady throttle. Throttle on or off is no problem and to be honest it does not bother me enough to do something about it. The by pass thingy is about £20 and requires the removal of the tank to fit it. Your dealer will probably advise against this action as the by pass thingy is designed to be fitted in conjunction with a power commander.

Chris Canning

Weeelll!!! war and piece has been written over the last couple of years about the 02 bypass,if you look at your down pipes you'll see what is called a lamba sensor it checks the gasses that come out of the engine,then sends messages back to the ecu to correct the fuelling,the problem being it's chicken and egg syndrome,hence the jerkyness,it also varies depending on which map you have installed in your bike,the latest doesn't always mean the best!!!!.