News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

1999 885i Starting Problem

Started by waterboy, October 31, 2013, 01:12:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

waterboy

Hello fellow Tiger Owners,

I am new to the Tiger phenomenon with my new (to me) 1999 885i.  I've been using this site to identify all the problems and tune up suggestions with much success for my 42k mile bike.

Unfortunately, one problem I inherited with the bike is a lack of power/effectiveness at the starter switch on the handle.  When I press the starter switch the dash lights go dim but nothing happens at the starter.  It acts like its being robbed of power to activate the solenoid.

The previous owner also had this problem and his solution was to splice in jumper wires to the starter and pull the seat off each time he started it by using the jumper wires directly to the battery.

I almost did a Sasquatch Voltage Fix but realized just in time my 885i didn't need it.  What other issues might I be encountering for this model bike that is keeping my starter switch from working or having the power to activate the starter solenoid?

Thanks in advance!

Waterboy

Mustang

start with the starter button (nice play on words  :ImaPoser )
take the switch housing apart and  clean the contacts with emery cloth (fine sandpaper)
if no joy , start following the wires and take apart any connectors in the circuit and clean the contacts in the connectors .

that'll keep ya busy for awhile . report back

fill in your profile location...........it helps we're global ya know .

WELCOME ABOARD !

Bixxer Bob