News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

HELP !!! Stator install question

Started by superhauck, September 10, 2008, 12:10:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

superhauck

Do you have to remove the tank to get to the wiring disconnect for the stator?  I'm trying to not remove the tank (as I've never done that before) to minimize the amount of stuff I can farkup yet still save $500 by installing the stator myself.

2aRover

You don't.  There is a wire tie on the frame below the plastic side cover.  Snip that to release the wiring bundle.  You might want to remove the side cover for better visibility and to get your fingers in better.
I drank what...?

superhauck

OH Thank GOD...for some reason the mere thought of removing that tank (and the subsequent nagging that it smells of petrol) is not what I needed on this fine evening.

superhauck

The stator connector clicks into another cable which appears to run underneath the air box...although my version of this wire appears to be frayed...and now I'm concerned this may have caused the dealer to diagnose the stator as failed.

Question is, this wire is pretty firmly entrenched under the air box...is there an easy way to get it out for inspection?  Does this piece regularly fray or go bad?  Can all this be purchased on the market or is it a dealer only deal?  

All you help is incredibly appreciated...especially considering my Tiger is currently in pieces in my garage at the moment! :oops:  :oops:

I know I'll never learn this stuff unless I risk the effort...but man is it scary!

Bixxer Bob