News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

2 Questions - No rush just need to hear some opinions/facts

Started by Putts255, October 24, 2010, 03:32:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Putts255

I have a guy close to me that has some parts from a 2006 Tiger he wants to sell.  

1) He has some cast wheels he is willing to part with.  I have heard that wheels from an 06 will not fit my 2001.  Is this true?  If they do fit what would be a reasonable price to pay for them?

2) I bought his side panniers from him today and want to take my originals and sand them down and repaint them.  Has anyone done it here and do you have any advice on how to proceed?  Hey, although I work in a bank and am pretty handy and since I have an extra set I can take my time and "experiment".  

Thanks everyone or anyone who is willing to put in your 2 cents....   :D
Father of 2, married 28 years to fantastic woman, lots of toys and still lots of dreams....

"You're never too old to learn new things."
_____
2001 Triumph Tiger - Black

John Stenhouse

The Frame changed in 2004 with intro of cast wheels, but all the changes shouldn't mean the wheels wont fit. Try them and see is the best advice.

The boxes are plastic, so when painting them make sure you use some plasticiser mixed with the paint to stop it flaking.
Black 885i Tiger UK based
Orange 955i Tiger Canadian based
Norton 961S never got it, tired of waiting

chairhead

Quote from: "Putts255"I have a guy close to me that has some parts from a 2006 Tiger he wants to sell.  

1) He has some cast wheels he is willing to part with.  I have heard that wheels from an 06 will not fit my 2001.  Is this true?