News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

front cam chain guide explody - help!

Started by mantramoto, May 27, 2011, 11:27:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mantramoto

So here are some photos of the front cam chain guide that exploded in my '95 Steamer. I am by no means a mechanic but I have a copy of the sometimes difficult to understand Haynes manual and I am going to make an attempt at replacing this thing. A mechanic from the Triumph dealer has told me that he thinks that the case has been ground down and will require either a new case or some very technical engine welding to bring the ground portion back to specs and allow the new guide to be replaced. The mushroomed metal looks to me to be part of the old guide that was ground down by the loose chain and not part of the case. I guess I will find out once I take the cylinder head off to have a better look. Do any of you gurus have any major words of wisdom before I dive into this any further? Any advice would be great! :D

JetdocX

I don't understand the problem.  Is the mount for the slider fubared?

If so, then start looking for another engine, or part your bike out and buy mine so I can get my new XC. :D
From parts unknown.

mantramoto

Hey JetdocX, I'm not sure - I have not taken off the cylinder head yet and that mushroomed piece of metal is about as good of a view as I have at this point. I would buy your bike if I had the cash - looks like a beauty but I now have my mind set on resurrecting the black beast.

JetdocX

Well, got time for me to come over and have a look at it?  PM me.  I'm happy to do it.  At least I can try to help you decide what direction to go and what your options might be.