News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Shock removal

Started by Pip, October 06, 2008, 10:20:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pip

Hi  Newbie here

Many apologies if this has been covered before but i'm in the process of replacing my old shock.  Managed to the remove the top mounting bolt (many a skinned knuckle) and also the bottem one.....(great design with the exhaust lowers there triumph!!)  But could someone enlighten me in how on earth i remove the hollow shaft linking the s/a with the lower eyebolt of the shock

Your confused

Pip
03 Tiger 955i
01 CCM604RS.....in bits again
02 CR250............in mud again
08 Pip-powered treada

Sasquatch

BFH

(Big Freaking Hammer)

Pip

ani dea of what sort and size of drift / punch to go along with the BFH  :?:  :?:  :lol:
03 Tiger 955i
01 CCM604RS.....in bits again
02 CR250............in mud again
08 Pip-powered treada

Advwannabe

Have you got it out yet Pip?

Started on my Hagon replacement today. I had a 10 mm brass drift I was able to gently tap the bush out with, but I suppose if you were doing it properly you'd make up a stepped drift with the smaller step @ 8mm to locate the drift and the step about 12.

Mine wasn't in that tight, good luck with yours.

The Triumph shock runs on needle roller bearings, but my Hagon just has a machined brass bush. I assume this is O.k? I'm flicking Hagon an email to ask them too but if anyone knows and can tell me that would be great!
No good deed goes unpunished
02 Tigger
02 Blackbird
75 GT380
IBA #33180

Advwannabe

Snappy reply from Hagon, the brass bush IS the new bearing. Went and gave the bush a gentle twist, spins freely. D'oh!  :oops:
02 Tigger
02 Blackbird