News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Where to go next...

Started by ghulst, January 29, 2024, 11:27:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ghulst

Last year I sold both of my remaining motorcycles. And I miss throwing my leg over a bike and being on two wheels. I know I have more than my share of four-wheeled vehicles to choose from, including two great toys, but they are not bikes. So, the search is back on. (Stay with me, Triumph content coming...)

When I started riding, I bought myself a dirt cheap Yamaha XJ600 for €50 from the mid-eighties that needed a lot of TLC. With the help of friends and a secondhand exhaust, I got that back on the road for a song and rode that in the region. But through Long Way Round and Long Way Down I loved adventure bikes. But I was not able to afford a BMW 1200GS, so when I saw a cheap Transalp up for grabs, I jumped at the opportunity. It was a fun bike to have. The seat height and seating position really made me happy and so the mile munching began. That was the first bike I did a road trip on, rushing out to the ferry in Calais, driving it through London (getting hopelessly lost without a GPS) and meandering down the coast to Bexhill-On-Sea to meet a friend. And later to Germany, to a place slightly south of Heidelberg. That's also when I felt the need for a bigger engine.

Enter Triumph and the Steamer. (And this forum.)