News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Steamer starting query

Started by diggerT, March 28, 2008, 02:36:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

diggerT

My 93 normally starts first time but if it doesn't fire up straight away, that's it and it seems like the battery goes flat immediately but it will jump start no problem. So I went and bought a new battery thinking would solve the problem. If I ride the bike everyday it is fine, however leave it for a couple of days it is not happy. I am not an accomplished mechanic so have a mate who does most of the major work.

Could anyone give me a list of items he should check on the electrics to see why it does this and are there any particular components it would be would worth upgrading to give a more reliable machine?

Many thanks for any input

DiggerT

JetdocX

Well, I would start by unplugging any aftermarket electrics you may have on the bike.  

Do you have a VOM?  With everything turned off, the total current flow should be only enough to run the digital clock.  Any current flow in excess of a few milliamps means you have something on still.  Or a high resistance short to ground.
From parts unknown.

nightrunner

You might want to read over all the threads about the coils, and about jetting.    Steamers are notoriously cold blooded.   Personally I would advise anyone with a steamer to rejet (recipe posted on this forum) and to either get the Nology coils or set of TT600 on-the-plug coils.   Since yours starts easily with jump starting, I would say the coils should be your first upgrade.

Cheers
Scott

Seeking adventure and peril

JetdocX