News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Hello, New Steamer owner!!

Started by Lostviking, July 05, 2008, 01:21:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lostviking

Hi all,

Newbie here with a very clean '96 with 16k on the clock.
I have it sort of torn apart at the moment, going over it. Tightening loose parts and cleaning and lubricating where needed,

Got a quick test ride when buying it.

Very excited.
Find A Way

Mustang

Hi
welcome to the group

Here are a few things to watch for on the steamers ........

1. They are prone to DAR (Dreaded Alternator Rattle) broken bolt on the alt. drive
2. Ignition Failure ..............$70 Igniter Pulse Sensor on the RHS crankshaft
3. Coil Breakdown .stock Gill coils will eventually die replace them with NOLOGYS for 1/2 the price of stock . If your coils say PVL on them you are good that's what nologys are .
4 Spaugue Clutch to starter motor ....if you don't keep a fresh battery in it or try cranking with a dead battery , causes the sprag clutch to fail which will require the cases to be split to repair ( some good news with 2 tigers and over 100k between them have had no sprag failure , shit now I'm doomed )
Those are the major failures that usually happen to the steamers !
It is a very solid bike , I just took my ten year old stemer with 50+k on it  on a 8000 mile solo USA trip and had no problems at all , other than I wore the tires out ! :D
Enjoy your new to you tiger and this forum is a great place for info and help as well as great people !

JetdocX

I suggest you remove the valve cover and check valve clearances.  It's time if it has not been done yet. :wink:
From parts unknown.

Mustang