News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Hard to start on hot restart. No idle.

Started by DKWrider, July 12, 2010, 01:13:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DKWrider

I have been riding my (new for me) 2000 Tiger around and back to the house just to get used to it.  Basically starting it, riding it, and parking it.

Yesterday I took it out to run some errands.  Fairly warm day in the 80s.  I noticed the first time I stopped to run an errand, that the bike didn't want to start as quickly as it didwhen cold.  Normally fires right up and idles smooth when started cold.  Observed the same longer start time when I made the other stops.  Starter was cranking fine, just didn't seem like the engine wanted to catch.

Today, took it out for a fairly long ride during the day.  Stopped for awhile to get a drink, and again a little difficult to start but it did and ran fine.  Rode it home and pulled in the driveway.  Garage was closed so I opened up the garage and tried to start the bike to pull it into the garage.  Really difficult to start and once it did it wouldn't stay running.  Got it running and took it around the block.  Everytime I pulled in the clutch, it would die.

When I pulled it into the garage the fan ran for around 5 seconds then shut off.  That is only the second time I have heard the fan run.  Coolant temperature was just above line that I believe indicates normal temp.  Never has gotten but just a few ticks above that line when riding.  Normally warms up to there and sits on that line unless riding slow.  Coolant level was between Max and Min.

Gas level is showing just below a half.