News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Another toasted stator

Started by crashresq, August 03, 2008, 10:59:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crashresq

Hello all,

I'm a TigerTriple newb, but have been lurking for quite a while.  I purchased an '06 Tiger about a month ago and LOVE it... but last Thursday, I was on it all day (about 400 miles total).  I got home and killed the engine to open the shop door.  When I went to start it to pull it in, battery was dead.  I noticed on the way home that the lights seemed to be weak, but hadn't ridden in the dark enough to know how bright they "should" be.

Long story short, I searched the forums here and saw several post concerning stator issues.  I called a local shop to ask them about a "do at home test" and they told me how to unplug the connection from the stator after the bike is running and test all three poles, ensuring that the A/C output was nearly the same (amount wasn't a big issue).  I did that test and output on one leg was 22v, 2nd leg was 17v and 3rd was 9v... that was a problem.

I've got a stator ordered and should be here Tuesday so I pulled the bad one last night.  Only one coil is toasted (but it's toasted bad), I'm assuming that that is all it takes to kill the stator?

All of this is to ask the following questions:

1)  Should I have found a small amount of oil under the cover when I removed it?

2)  Does the paper filter need to be replaced, or can it be replaced with RTV (Form-a-Gasket)?