News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

What Should a nOOb Look For: Tiger T400, 1995, 20'500 miles

Started by Birdy68, August 28, 2009, 01:01:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Birdy68

Hello Tiger owners,

The reason for me wrting this post, is the fact that I am a nOOB in the knowledge (or lack there-of) of Tigers and would like some advice from you competent Steamer owners!

I'm looking into getting a used Tiger 900 (T400 - March 1995).
See linked image below:

It has around 20'500 miles on the clock, has a valid MOT (road test) and has a standard :roll: 3 months guarantee.

I will be going to look at it in person - tomorrow, so my question(s) to you are:
- What should I be looking at? -beside when the last service was
 -- Chain set/cogs wear
 -- Oil leaks
 -- Front forks
 -- Cables
 -- etc.

- What costs could I expect to come up in the near future?

- Are these bikes as 'solid' as they say they are?

- Is this a resonable bike to start looking at taking up some easy enduro tours?
I don't want to fork out a shed load of money on something like a wizz-bang F800GS to find out it's not what I like...

I enjoy getting my hands dirty so a bit of mechanical work is always a highlight for me! It helps bond man with machine!

I've just gone throught the STICKY threads:
- Maintenance Guide
and also
- Steamer Wisdom and Illustrated 'How-To' Threads

Thanks for your advice in advance - it's greatly apreciated.
Birdy68
-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-x-
Leave the pork pies for now - get the sausage rolls while they\'re hot!

Nick Calne