News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Fitting new chain and sprockets , advise required

Started by Tigertriple, April 03, 2011, 10:08:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tigertriple

I am about to fit a new chain and sprockets to my 06 Girly. I have bought Renthal sprockets and a good quality x ring chain.

I am looking for advise on how to rivet the new chain. I have bought a Motrax chain breaker / riveter tool. I have never done this before and do not want to f**k it up. I am okay with everything else that needs to be done to complete this job. Only need help on the riveting part.

Any tips would be good. Thanks.
2006, 955 Tiger Caspian blue with lot\'s of juicy extras

tett

This is really not too difficult.

1/  Take the old chain off.  Don't bother with a chain breaker.  With a small grinding stone on a drill grind off the heads from two pins on a link and then pop off the link.  

2/  Remove chain.  Replace sprockets etc..  Leave the back wheel all the way forward so the new chain will be really slack.

3/  Thread the chain over the sprokets and hook together with the joining link.  Have the two pins pointing to the outside.  Don't forget to grease this up and use the supplied o rings.  

4/  Place the front link plate over the pins.  It probably will not go on far because they do not put much of a chamfer on the holes or pins.