News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

Rear Shock Lowering on 955 '05

Started by metalguru, February 04, 2011, 03:54:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

metalguru

Being an engineer by trade I am always looking to improve my rides and can usually find a way to achieve a conclusion. However, since aquiring my 955 tigger, (the 855 met its end with an errant horse last year) the ride height is still a problem. Ah just change the shock you might say but I do actually like the ride quality given by the standard shock. Having ridden aftermarket equipped bikes i found the ride a tad harsh. Being of 32" leg and not too heavy, stops can be an adventure espacially in cross winds. The 885 was easy as just turned the chain adjusters. The 885 shock looks like it might be shorter but unsure of this, or are there any other ideas out there? In the old days it was common practice on lowering cars to carefully shorten the spring but think this could be an adverse and very last resort mod.
2013 Explorer
2006 Rocket 3
2004 Tiger Lucifer Orange
2001 Adventurer. (Like new).
1993 DR200
1977 Kawa Z1000A1 (Had from new)
1972 BSA A65L
1960 Norman Nippy
1952 Royal Enfield Ensign MK1
2 Crossers
I may as well do it, as I'm gonna get blamed for it anyway.

Mustang

if the shock has dogbones to the linkage like a steamer change the length of the two dogbones to the linkage to raise or lower to your liking

without actually looking at my bike  I think longer dogbones lowers the suspension,but I could be wrong about that

Timbox2