News:

Welcome to the TigerTriple forum! Over the years we have gathered lots of great information on all things Triumph Tiger. Besides that, this is a great community that is willing to help you keep your Tiger moving. So, feel welcome! Also, try the search button for answers to your questions. If you have any questions, PM me on ghulst.

Main Menu

EXTREME MAKEOVER........Steamer Edition

Started by Mustang, January 21, 2010, 05:38:19 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

daveb

Looking nice there Mustang, I was concered when reading page 1 about changing front wheels sizes I know how some small modifications like this affect the speedo.  By the sound of your mod, the new front wheel and tyre combination is the same size as the exisiting, wheel and tyre combinations.

This next bit will bore your all to sleep, for that I apologise.

I will come clean, I am a design engineer for an automotive instrumentation company. Possibly best know as 'Smiths Instruments' although company name changes over the last 20 years.

I understand how mechanical speedos have a critical gear ratio between the hub and speedo input plus how a simple change will effect the pointer position for speed.

however it sounds like the new wheel /  tyre combo has the same rolling circumferance as the original.

I know a few guys from the TDM owners who have change the front wheel size by 1 inch, this has resulted in a 6.5% increase in speed shown (true 60mph displays 65mph) plus 6.5% mile increase. for 1 mile travelled the bike shows 1.65 miles.

type approval for cars (SVA or IVA or Holomgation) speedo can not show less than true speed, however it can display true speed + 10% +4km/h.

Mustang

ah but what you are missing in this equation is the fact that the trophy uses the same speedo as a tigger the difference is in the speedo drive ........and I modified a trophy speedo drive to work on the tigger , thats why the speedo drive is on the right hand side now .